So That's Where I Get It From

February 5, 2011

Surname Saturday: Lavender

I’m not sure yet how this surname of Lavender fits in with my family history, but it is linked to the family of “Digby” Daniel Read whose exact connection with my family I am still investigating.

For those following my blog you will know that I refer to Daniel Read as “Digby” because for a long time I did not know his first name, seeing only Dg or Dy in a document so I gave him that nickname.

Anyway “Digby” Daniel (1731 – 1771) born at Hardmead, Buckinghamshire had a brother called Lavender Read (1734 – 1770) also born at Hardmead, Buckinghamshire (I just so love that name).  I always wondered where the Lavender part came from and have found a few of my Reads have a first name taken from their mother’s maiden name.  So I was thinking that Lavender Read was named after perhaps his mother, grandmother, someone else?

After a bit of ferreting around I also discovered the Will of “Digby” Daniel’s father (also called Daniel) ‘s brother Edward of Hardmead, Buckinghamshire.  Edward Read’s Will was dated 13th March 1733 and proved 21st October 1734.  Edward has three witnesses to his Will and, surprising for me, one of them is Elizabeth Lavender!   So I began to wonder, is Elizabeth Lavender family or a friend and is she or someone in her family why Lavender Read was so named.

Daniel Read senior and his brother Edward had a sister Elizabeth, so I wondered if she had married a Lavender.  But on investigating this further, Elizabeth married Robert Yorke in 1719 at Hardmead, Buckinghamshire so she’s not the one with a connection to the Lavenders.

Daniel senior (brother to Edward and father to “Digby” Daniel) married Rebeka but I have no idea what her surname is.  I have searched throughout Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire and Hertfordshire and many places in London for Daniel Read senior’s marriage to Rebeka but no luck at all in finding it.  I wondered if she was a Lavender, hence naming one of their sons with that surname.  Still I have no idea.

Daniel senior’s own father was also Daniell Reade and he was born in Moulsoe, Buckinghamshire but he and his wife Sarah Hootton had their children at Hardmead and Daniel and  Sarah both died at Hardmead.  The family are also linked to Emberton, Buckinghamshire so I have searched these places in particular for Lavenders.

After a good few years of searching I am no nearer to finding out who Lavender Read is named after and how the Lavender family are connected to “Digby” Daniel Read’s family.

I’m sure I will find the answer one day, I am a very patient person!!  ;-)

2 Comments »

  1. What a really interesting story. I did a post recently about family surnames becoming first names. It seemed to happen more in my family during the 19th century although I have a couple of examples in the last century.

    Comment by mike — February 6, 2011 @ 10:18 am

    • Hallo Mike, Thanks for your comment and for visiting my blog, it’s much appreciated. I’m pleased you found the story interesting. I seem to be going round in circles with this little family group, and I thought that as Lavender is rather unusual for a first name as well as surname, that it would be fairly easy to get on the right trail. How wrong I was.

      I have a few of my ancestors with a first name of their mother or grandmother’s surname so they are little clues. Just have to find the right marriage in some cases and then it’s fairly easy!!

      Kind regards,

      Christine (rootsresearcher)

      Comment by rootsresearcher — February 6, 2011 @ 10:18 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Get a free blog at WordPress.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers